The Mendel Medal


The Mendel Medal shall be conferred once each year; but it need not be conferred annually. An Advisory Committee, chaired by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, shall recommend candidates for the Medal to the President of the University. The final selection and approval of candidates for the Medal shall rest with the President and the Board of Trustees. The Advisory Committee shall meet at least once a year to consider candidates and to recommend to the President as to whether or not the award is to be made, and the candidate to whom it is to be made.

In making final decisions as to the award of the Mendel Medal to individual candidates the Advisory Committee shall be guided by the following principles:

  1. The Mendel Medal shall be awarded for distinguished service in advancing the cause of science. It may be awarded: (a) for some special work in any scientific subject that is considered of sufficient importance, or for any distinguished work in the Life Sciences; (b) for discovery or original research adding to the sum of human knowledge, irrespective of commercial value; and (c) for meritorious inventions, discoveries, improvements in scientific processes, methods or devices.

  2. It shall not be awarded in absentia. Announcement of the award shall be made ordinarily during the latter part of October or the first part of November, but the actual awarding of the Medal shall take place, with appropriate ceremony, on or about the anniversary of Mendel's death, January 7, or as near thereto as is convenient. Special circumstances, however, may make it advisable that either one or both, announcement and conferral take place at other times.

Advisory Committee Members:
Rev. Kail C. Ellis, Chairman, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Dr. Sarah-Vaughan Brakman, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Dr. Robert M. Giuliano, Professor of Chemistry
Dr. Helen K. Lafferty, University Vice President
Dr. Frank P. Maloney, Associate Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Dr. Joseph A. Orkwiszewski, Professor of Biology
Dr. R. Kelman Wieder, Associate Dean for Sciences, Professor of Biology

Villanova University Return to the Mendel Medal Home Page.

© 1996 Frank P. Maloney and Villanova University