The Mendel Medal Recipients

2005 Dr. Holmes Rolston, III

University Distinguished Professor and Professor of Philosophy, Colorado State University.
2004 Dr. Ralph Hirschmann

Rao Makineni Professor of Bioorganic Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania.
2003 Dr. Janet Rowley

Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor; Department of Human Genetics, The University of Chicago.
2002 Dr. Ruth Patrick

Professor; The Francis Boyer Chair of Limnology of the Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia, PA.
2001 Dr. Michael E. DeBakey

Physician - Surgeon; Chancellor Emeritus, Baylor College of Medecine, Houston, TX.
2000 Dr. Peter C. Doherty

Professor and Chairman, Department of Immunology, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, TN. Nobel Laureate in Medecine (1996).
1999 Dr. Charles H. Townes

Professor in the Graduate School, the University of California at Berkeley; Inventor of the maser and laser; Nobel Laureate in Physics (1964).
1998 Dr. Francis S. Collins

Physician - Geneticist; Director, National Center for Human Genome Research
1997 Dr. Peter H. Raven

Director, Missouri Botanical Garden; Engelmann Professor of Botany at Washington University.
1996 Dr. Maxine F. Singer

President, Carnegie Institution of Washington; Scientist Emeritus, Laboratory of Biochemistry, Division of Cancer Biology and Diagnosis, National Cancer Institute; National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland.
1995 Dr. Victor A. McKusick

Founder president of the Human Genome Organization; pioneer in bringing genetics into the mainstream of clinical medicine; University Professor of Medical Genetics at The Johns Hopkins University and Physician at The Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Md.
1993 Dr. Phillip A. Sharp

Discoverer of RNA splicing; Salvadore E. Lauria Professor and Head, Department of Biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; former director of the Center for Cancer Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Nobel Laureate in Medicine (1993).
1968 Dr. Alfred M. Bongiovanni

Specialist in glands and growth problems in children; Physician-in-Chief at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and the William H. Bennett Professor of Pediatrics, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine , Philadelphia.
1965 Dr. Charles A. Hufnagel

Pioneer in Cardiovascular Surgery, Professor of Surgery at Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.
1963 Major Robert M. White, U.S.A.F.

Pilot, X-15 Experimental Research Aircraft, Edwards Air Force Base, Calif.
1961 Dr. James A. Shannon

Director, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.
1960 Dr. William J. Thaler

United States Navy Research Physicist.
1955 Dr. James B. Macelwane, S.J.

Director of the Department of Geophysics at St. Louis University, St. Louis, Mo.
1954 Dr. Frank M. Piasecki

President, Piasecki Aircraft Corporation, Philadelphia.
1946 Dr. John C. Hubbard

Professor of Physics, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md.
1943 Dr. George Speri Sperti

Director, Institutum Divi Thomae, Cincinnati, Ohio.
1942 Dr. Joseph A. Becker

Research Physicist of Bell Telephone Laboratories.
1941 Dr. Eugene M. K. Geiling

Professor of Pharmacology, University of Chicago.
1940 Dr. Petrus J.W. Debye

Professor of Chemistry, Cornell University; Nobel Laureate in Chemistry (1936).
1939 Rev. John Montgomery Cooper, Ph.D.

Professor of Anthropology, Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.
1938 Dr. Thomas Parran

Surgeon General of the United States Public Health Service.
1937 Rev. Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, S.J.

Paleontologist with the National Geological Survey of China.
1936 Rev. Julius Arthur Nieuwland, C.S.C.

Professor of Chemistry at the University of Notre Dame.
1935 Dr. Francis Owen Rice

Professor of Chemistry at the Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.
1934 Abbé Georges Lemaître, Ph.D., D.Sc.

Professor of Astro-Physics at the Catholic University of Louvain.
1933 Dr. Hugh Stott Taylor, F.R.S.L.

Chairman of the Chemistry Department, Princeton University.
1932 Dr. Francis P. Garvan

President of the Chemical Foundation of America, New York.
1931 Dr. Karl F. Herzfeld

Professor of Physics at the Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.
1930 Dr. Albert F. Zahm

Pioneer in Aeronautics; Director of Aeronautical Research in the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
1929 Dr. John A. Kolmer

Professor of Medicine at Temple University Medical School, Director, Research Institute of Cutaneous Medicine, Philadelphia.

Villanova University Return to the Mendel Medal Home Page.

© 1996 Frank P. Maloney and Villanova University